Rep. Matt Hatchett New House Majority Whip

State Representative Matt Hatchett (R-Dublin) was elected today as the House Majority Whip. He will serve for the remainder of the 2021-2022 legislative term.

From a press release:

“I am honored to have been elected by my Republican colleagues to serve in this new capacity,” said Majority Whip Hatchett. “I am thankful for the residents of House District 150 in Middle Georgia for allowing me the honor to represent them and fight for us all at the State Capitol. Year after year, voters continue to entrust the House Republican Caucus to lead their state legislature and bring sound policies to the table that put Georgians first. With this in mind, I look forward to continuing to move this state forward with strong conservative values.”

“Matt Hatchett is a proven leader who has earned the trust of the House Majority Caucus,” said Speaker David Ralston (R-Blue Ridge). “He has fought time and again for our priorities and principals both on the campaign trail and in the well of the Georgia House. I am proud he has been chosen by our colleagues as Majority Whip, and I am honored to continue to have him as part of our House leadership team.”

Majority Whip Hatchett is responsible for monitoring legislation as it moves through both chambers of the General Assembly and helping the members of the Majority Caucus to better understand the details of bills and resolutions.

As a result of this election, Majority Whip Hatchett has resigned as the chair of the Majority Caucus, a position he held since 2013.

Representative Matt Hatchett represents the citizens of District 150, which includes Treutlen County and portions of Johnson and Laurens counties. He was elected to the House of Representatives in 2010 and currently serves as House Majority Whip and and Vice Chairman of the Rules Committee. He also serves on the Special Committee On Access to Quality Health Care and the Appropriations Subcommittee on General Government, as well as the Economic Development & Tourism, Energy, Utilities & Telecommunications, Ethics and Health & Human Services committees.


Add a Comment