House Committee Assignments Released

The House Committee on Assignments, chaired by Speaker David Ralston (R-Blue Ridge), announced today the committee assignments for the 2021-2022 legislative term.

Speaker David Ralston: “We have a dynamic group of leaders joining the ranks of our committee chairmen this year, and I appreciate their willingness to serve this House and the citizens of our great state. From stewarding Georgia’s continued economic growth to overseeing critical services like education and healthcare, the House relies on our committees to make informed decisions that keep our state moving forward. I thank all the members of our Committee on Assignments for their hard work these last several weeks to make today’s announcement possible.”

Committee chairmen for the legislative term are as follows (changes from last session are marked with an asterisk (*):

· *Agriculture & Consumer Affairs – Rep. Robert Dickey, replaces Tom McCall

· Appropriations – Rep. Terry England

· Banks & Banking – Rep. Greg Morris

· Budget & Fiscal Affairs Oversight – Rep. Lee Hawkins

· Code Revision – Rep. Timothy Barr

· Creative Arts & Entertainment – Rep. Matt Dollar

· Defense & Veterans Affairs – Rep. Heath Clark

· Economic Development & Tourism – Rep. Ron Stephens

· *Education – Rep. Matt Dubnik, replaces Rick Jasperse

· Energy, Utilities & Telecommunications – Rep. Don Parsons

· Ethics – Rep. Randy Nix

· Game, Fish & Parks – Rep. Trey Rhodes

· *Governmental Affairs – Rep. Darlene Taylor, replaces Shaw Blackmon

· Health & Human Services – Rep. Sharon Cooper

· Higher Education – Rep. Chuck Martin

· Human Relations & Aging – Rep. Jesse Petrea

· Industry & Labor – Rep. Bill Werkheiser

· Information & Audits – Rep. Don Hogan

· Insurance – Rep. Eddie Lumsden

· Interstate Cooperation – Rep. Steve Tarvin

· Intragovernmental Coordination – Rep. Jan Tankersley

· *Judiciary – Rep. Chuck Efstration, replaces Barry Fleming

· *Judiciary (Non-Civil) – Rep. James Burchett, replaces Rep. Chuck Efstration

· Juvenile Justice – Rep. Mandi Ballinger

· Legislative & Congressional Reapportionment – Rep. Bonnie Rich

· *MARTOC – Rep. Mary Margaret Oliver, replaces Deborah Silcox

· Motor Vehicles – Rep. John Corbett

· Natural Resources & Environment – Rep. Lynn Smith

· Public Safety & Homeland Security – Rep. J Collins, replaces Bill Hitchens

· Regulated Industries – Rep. Alan Powell

· *Retirement – Rep. John Carson, replaces Tom Kirby

· Rules – Rep. Richard Smith

· Science & Technology – Rep. Ed Setzler

· Small Business Development – Rep. Mike Cheokas

· Special Rules – Rep. Dave Belton

· *State Planning & Community Affairs – Rep. Karen Mathiak, replaces Jimmy Pruett

· State Properties – Rep. Gerald Greene

· *Transportation – Rep. Rick Jasperse, replaces Kevin Tanner

· *Ways & Means – Rep. Shaw Blackmon, replaces Brett Harrell

Chairmen of the subcommittees of Appropriations are as follows:

· Economic Development – Rep. Penny Houston

· Education – Rep. Todd Jones

· General Government – Rep. Sam Watson

· Health – Rep. Butch Parrish

· Higher Education – Rep. David Knight

· Human Resources – Rep. Katie Dempsey

· Public Safety – Rep. Bill Hitchens

· Transportation & Infrastructure – Rep. Clay Pirkle

The Committee on Assignments also appointed members of three special committees of the House. Special committees differ from standing committees in that they are term-limited and will expire at the end of this legislative session unless renewed. The chairmen of these special committees are as follows:

· Access to the Civil Justice System – Rep. Trey Kelley

· Access to Quality Healthcare – Rep. Mark Newton

· Election Integrity – Rep. Barry Fleming

One Comment

Add a Comment