Speaker Ralston Announces New Committee Chairs, Members

From a press release:

ATLANTA – Speaker David Ralston (R-Blue Ridge) today announced changes in leadership positions of several House committees. The Speaker also appointed additional members to the House Appropriations Committee and its subcommittees. These changes were discussed with members of the House leadership team and are effective immediately.

“As we prepare for what will be a busy 2020 legislative session, it is imperative that the House works efficiently and effectively in the best interests of Georgians,” said Speaker Ralston. “These members have earned the trust and respect of their colleagues, and I am proud to congratulate them on their new leadership roles.”

The new committee officers are as follows:

·         Appropriations Committee:

o   Rep. Matt Dubnik (R-Gainesville) – Secretary

o   Rep. Dewayne Hill (R-Ringgold) – Vice Chairman of General Government Subcommittee

o   Rep. Darlene Taylor (R-Thomasville) – Chairman of Transportation Subcommittee

·         Governmental Affairs Committee:

o   Rep. Shaw Blackmon (R-Bonaire) – Chairman

·         Information & Audits Committee:

o   Rep. Don Hogan (R-St. Simon’s Island) – Chairman

·         Interstate Cooperation Committee:

o   Rep. Steve Tarvin (R-Chickamauga) – Chairman

·         Regulated Industries Committee:

o   Rep. J. Collins (R-Villa Rica) – Vice Chairman

Speaker Ralston also appointed several additional members of the House Appropriations Committee and its subcommittees.

“We know that this year’s appropriations process will be an arduous one and will require additional work by the members of the Appropriations Committee,” said Speaker Ralston. “I felt it important to bolster our already capable membership with respected members who could contribute much as we determine what investments to make for our state and our future.”

The additional members of the Appropriations Committee and their subcommittee assignments are as follows:

·         Rep. Josh Bonner (R-Fayetteville) – Subcommittee on Economic Development

·         Rep. Don Hogan (R-St. Simon’s Island) – Subcommittee on Human Resources

·         Rep. Scott Holcomb (D-Atlanta) – Subcommittee on Public Safety

·         Rep. Miriam Paris (D-Macon) – Subcommittee on Transportation

Add a Comment