Senate Names Chairmen For New Session

New Year, New Lieutenant Governor, New Senate Committee Assignments.

Some notable changes from last year: Senator P.K. Martin is now the Chair of the Senate Education and Youth Committee, replacing Senator Lindsey Tippins who now chairs Senate Higher Ed. Health and Human Services is now chaired by Senator Ben Watson, with Renee Unterman moving to Science and Technology. Former Majority Leader Bill Cowsert takes over Regulated Industries. Jeff Mullis retains the Rules Committee Chair, so post-crossover day walk in music will remain a Georgia institution.

Also of note, it’s a bi-partisan slate. Three Democrats will chair Senate committees in this legislature. The full list of chairs & vice-chairs is below, with new appointments in italics.

·        Agriculture and Consumer Affairs Committee: Chairman Sen. John Wilkinson (R – Toccoa) and Vice-Chairman Sen. Lee Anderson (R – Grovetown)

·        Appropriations Committee: Chairman Sen. Jack Hill (R – Reidsville) and Vice-Chairman Sen. Blake Tillery (R – Vidalia)

·        Banking and Financial Institutions Committee: Chairman Sen. William Ligon (R – Brunswick) and Vice-Chairman Sen. John F. Kennedy (R – Macon)

·        Economic Development and Tourism Committee: Chairman Sen. Frank Ginn (R – Danielsville) and Vice-Chairman Sen. Matt Brass (R – Newnan)

·        Education and Youth Committee: Chairman Sen. P.K. Martin (R – Lawrenceville) and Vice-Chairman Sen. John Wilkinson (R – Toccoa)

·        Ethics Committee: Chairman Sen. Kay Kirkpatrick (R – Marietta) and Vice-Chairman Sen. William Ligon (R – Brunswick)

·        Finance Committee: Chairman Sen. Chuck Hufstetler (R – Rome) and Vice-Chairman Sen. John Albers (R – Roswell)

·        Government Oversight Committee: Chairman Sen. Bill Heath (R – Bremen) and Vice-Chairman Sen. Marty Harbin (R – Tyrone)

·        Health and Human Services Committee: Chairman Sen. Ben Watson (R – Savannah) and Vice-Chairman Sen. Dean Burke (R – Bainbridge)

·        Higher Education Committee: Chairman Sen. Lindsey Tippins (R – Marietta) and Vice-Chairman Sen. Brian Strickland (R – McDonough)

·        Insurance and Labor Committee: Chairman Sen. Burt Jones (R – Jackson) and Vice-Chairman Sen. P.K. Martin (R – Lawrenceville)

·        Interstate Cooperation Committee: Chairman Sen. Donzella James (D – Atlanta) and Vice-Chairman Sen. Freddie Powell Sims (D – Dawson)

·        Judiciary Committee: Chairman Sen. Jesse Stone (R – Waynesboro) and Vice-Chairman Sen. Bill Cowsert (R – Athens)

·        Natural Resources and the Environment Committee: Chairman Sen. Tyler Harper (R – Ocilla) and Vice-Chairman Sen. Bill Heath (R – Bremen)

·        Public Safety Committee: Chairman Sen. John Albers (R – Roswell) and Vice-Chairman Sen. Tyler Harper (R – Ocilla)

·        Reapportionment and Redistricting Committee: Chairman Sen. Matt Brass (R – Newnan) and Vice-Chairman Sen. William Ligon (R – Brunswick)

·        Regulated Industries and Utilities Committee: Chairman Sen. Bill Cowsert (R – Athens) and Vice-Chairman Sen. Matt Brass (R – Newnan)

·        Retirement Committee: Chairman Sen. Ellis Black (R – Valdosta) and Vice-Chairman Sen. Chuck Hufstetler (R – Rome)

·        Rules Committee: Chairman Sen. Jeff Mullis (R – Chickamauga) and Vice-Chairman Sen. Jack Hill (R – Reidsville)

·        Science and Technology Committee: Chairman Sen. Renee Unterman (R – Buford) and Vice-Chairman Sen. Greg Dolezal (R – Cumming)

·        Special Judiciary Committee: Chairman Sen. Jen Jordan (D – Atlanta) and Vice-Chairman Sen. Donzella James (D – Atlanta)

·        State and Local Governmental Operations Committee: Chairman Sen. Greg Kirk (R – Americus) and Vice-Chairman Sen. Chuck Payne (R – Dalton)

·        State Institutions and Property Committee: Chairman Sen. Ed Harbison (D – Columbus) and Vice-Chairman Sen. Blake Tillery (R – Vidalia)

·        Transportation Committee:  Chairman Sen. Brandon Beach (R – Alpharetta) and Vice- Chairman Sen. Steve Gooch (R – Dahlonega)

·        Urban Affairs Committee: Chairman Sen. Lester Jackson (D – Savannah) and Vice-Chairman Sen. Steve Henson (D – Stone Mountain)

·        Veterans, Military and Homeland Security: Chairman Sen. Bruce Thompson (R – White) and Vice-Chairman Sen. Ed Harbison (D – Columbus)

Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
1 year ago

Several dems as committee chairs, it will be interesting to see what legislation gets assigned to them.

John Vestal
John Vestal
1 year ago

Cowsert over RegInd? Guess the days of expanding alcohol sales are over.

1 year ago

Good to see my good Senator retained the Rules Chairman position. I was a little worried about that one after him campaigning for Shafer so hard.

Would love your thoughts, please comment.x