Legislature Continuing Time-Honored Tradition of Prioritizing Campaigning Over Legislating

We now know the rest of the schedule for this year’s legislative session and lawmakers seem to be in a hurry to get out early: Crossover Day is February 29 and Sine Die is March 24.

In odd-numbered years the session extends into May or at least mid April but even-numbered years see the legislature adjourning much much quicker.

Might that have something to do with the fact that they have to run for reelection this year and the perception is that an elected official’s first job is to get re-elected, not serving the god-fearing citizens of this fine state? Absolutely Maybe.

You can see the schedule for Feb. 2 (day 14) until March 24 below.

Tuesday, February 2 convene for legislative day 14
Wednesday, February 3 convene for legislative day 15
Rhursday, February 4 convene for legislative day 16

Monday, February 8 convene for legislative day 17
Tuesday, February 9 convene for legislative day 18
Wednesday, February 10 convene for legislative day
Thursday, February 11 convene for legislative day 20

Tuesday, February 16 convene for legislative day 21
Wednesday, February 17 convene for legislative day 22
Thursday, February 18 convene for legislative day 23
Friday, February 19 convene for legislative day 24

Monday, February 22 convene for legislative day 25
Tuesday, February 23 convene for legislative day 26
Wednesday, February 24 convene for legislative day 27
Thursday, February 25 convene for legislative day 28
Friday, February 26 convene for legislative day 29

Monday, February 29 convene for legislative day 30
Wednesday, March 2 convene for legislative day 31

Monday, March 7 convene for legislative day 32
Tuesday, March 8 convene for legislative day 33
Thursday, March 10 convene for legislative day 34
Friday, March 11 convene for legislative day 35

Monday, March 14 convene for legislative day 36
Tuesday, March 15 convene for legislative day 37
Wednesday, March 16 convene for legislative day 38

Tuesday, March 22 convene for legislative day 39
Thursday, March 24 convene for legislative day 40

Leave a Reply

Please Login to comment
  Subscribe  
Notify of