We have elections in the Mountains

The race for Mayor of Hiawassee was hotly contested with charges of tax increases and counter charges of franchise fees playing a major role in the race. In the end former Mayor Pro-tem Liz Ordailes prevailed over Barry Dearing with 70% of the vote. Nancy Noblet won Hiawassee Council Post 5

In Blairsville, the Mayor Jim Conley and Council members Tony Dyer and Buddy Moore ran unopposed. However there was a special election to fill the open seat created by the untimely passing of Martha Cone. Mary Ruth Cook defeated Johnathon Love with 80% of the vote.

 There were no contested races in Young Harris.

In the City of Blue Ridge Mayor Donna Whitener defeated Brendan Doyle. Council Post 1 Incumbent  Harold Herndon ran unopposed due to his opponent being disqualified for failing to meet the residency requirement. In Post 2 Incumbent Rhonda Thomas defeated Angela Powell. Post 3 incumbent Angie Arp lost to challenger Kenneth Gaddis. Robert Cornelius defeated Mike Jacobs for the Post 4 seat and Nathan Fitts prevailed over Dave Stuart in the Post 5 race.

 We congratulate all last night’s winners and salute everyone who engaged in the races to represent the people of the cities of Northeast Georgia. Well done everyone.


Leave a Reply

Please Login to comment
Notify of