Carr announces firearms license reciprocity agreement with Virginia

Another state has been added to the list for firearms license reciprocity in Georgia.

Attorney General Chris Carr announced Wednesday that Virginia firearms licenses will be recognized in Georgia.

Reciprocity stems from a 1996 law which allows Georgia to grant the privilege to citizens from other states that also recognize Georgia’s firearms licenses.

Virginia recently decided to permit Georgia firearms license holders 21 years of age and older to be protected under their carry laws. This means, effective immediately, Georgia now offers reciprocity and honors Virginia firearms licenses.

Just as Georgians are required to abide by the respective states’ firearms laws, anyone carrying in the peach state must comply with Georgia regulations. One exception lies with Virginia and Wisconsin, both of which only recognize firearms licenses for persons 21 and older while Georgia recognizes all licenses from both states. This means Georgians in law enforcement or in the military who are under 21 would not be covered under Virginia or Wisconsin laws.

Georgia now recognizes firearms licenses from 31 other states.

Those states are: Alabama, Alaska, Arkansas, Arizona, Colorado, Florida, Idaho, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maine, Michigan, Mississippi, Missouri, Montana, New Hampshire, North Carolina, North Dakota, Ohio, Oklahoma, Pennsylvania, South Carolina, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Virginia, West Virginia, Wisconsin, and Wyoming.


Add a Comment